Thanks to BBC Bitesize’s educational website, from 20 April online daily lessons in core subjects will be broadcast on BBC iPlayer and the BBC Red Button. These will be for all ages and small enough to digest, hence the Bitesize, and available to watch on computers, tablets and phones.

With help from other parts of the BBC and education experts, they want to make available learning resources for everyone during the school closures during Coronavirus Lockdown. They also have engaged some well-known faces to help deliver the lessons such as Karim Zeroual, Oti Mabuse, Katie Thistleton, Professor Brian Cox, Sir David Attenborough, Danny Dyer and footballer Sergio Aguero.

The lesson content will be backed up by new videos, articles, educational games and practise tests. Regular lessons on all core subjects will be available, plus podcasts.

There’ll also be loads of fun stuff like videos, quizzes, podcasts and articles to make the core subjects a bit more exciting.

There is also useful advice for Mums and dads on how to teach home-schooling and guides for pupils with SEN (special educational needs).

What is BBC Bitesize?
Bitesize is part of the BBC Educational program and provides formal learning content in line with the national curriculum, in the form of “bitesized” interactive content, video and audio summaries and practise exams.

What is new on BBC Bitesize?

BBC iPlayer and the Red Button service will host Bitesize Daily with Experts and teachers involved, covering what should be learned that day for the different year groups and key stages.

Maths, Science and English will be covered in dedicated programmes, and other subjects such as History, Geography, Music and Art are also covered.

For older students studying the GCSE and A-Level curriculum, BBC Four is joining forces with Red Button for evening programmes.

There will be specific content for BBC Scotland to match the Scottish Curriculum.

In addition, BBC Sounds are launching podcasts aimed at either primary or secondary pupils. These daily shows are around 10 minutes long.

How BBC Bitesize is split

The site is split into age with primary/secondary, and over 16’s. Within each age group, there is a split into countries.


Each Key Stage 1, 2 and 3, and GCSE section covers a range of subjects.

Primary School Age

Key Stage 1 – Primary school education years 1-2 for pupils aged 5 to 7. Covers 19 subjects – Art and Design, Computing, Design and Technology, English, French, Geography, German, History, Mandarin, Maths, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, Physical Education, PSHE and Citizenship, Religious Education, Science, Spanish.

Key Stage 2 – Primary school education years 3-6 for pupils aged 7 to 11 covering 21 subjects. As above with additional Italian and Welsh Second Language.

Secondary School Age

Key Stage 3 is for pupils aged 11 to 14 (first three years of secondary school education). This covers 27 subjects including Art and Design, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Design and Technology, English, Geography, History, History (Environment and society), ICT, Learning for Life and Work, Maths, Media Studies, Music, Physical Education, Physics, PSHE and Citizenship, Religious Studies, Science, and Welsh Second Language.

Languages – French, German, Mandarin, Spanish and Modern Foreign Languages

The GCSE section has 35 subjects across several exam boards. Art and Design, Biology (Single Science), Business, Chemistry (Single Science), Combined Science, Design and Technology, Digital Technology (CCEA), Drama, English Language, English Literature, French, Geography, German, History, Home Economics: Food and Nutrition (CCEA), Hospitality (CCEA), ICT, Irish – Learners (CCEA), Journalism (CCEA), Learning for Life and Work (CCEA), Mandarin, Maths, Maths Numeracy (WJEC), Media Studies, Modern Foreign Languages, Moving Image Arts (CCEA), Music, Physical Education, Physics (Single Science), PSHE and Citizenship, Religious Studies, Science, Sociology, Spanish, Welsh Second Language (WJEC)


In line with the Scottish Curriculum these are split by (and also available in the Scottish Language):

  • Early Level (primary year 1)
  • 1st Level (primary 2 to 4) – A’ Chiad Ìre (Bun-sgoil 2 gu 4)
  • 2nd Level (Primary 5 to 7) – An Dàrna Ìre (Bun-sgoil 2 gu 4)


In line with the Welsh Curriculum these are split by (and also available in the Welsh Language):

  • Foundation Stage / Cyfnod Sylfaen (Reception to year 2)
  • Key stage 2 / CA2 (primary year 3 to 6)

Northern Ireland

In line with the Northern Irish Curriculum, these are split by:

  • Foundation Stage (primary year 1 to 2)
  • Key Stage 1 (primary year 3 to 4)
  • Key stage 2 (primary year 5 to 7)